And if our history will be recorded one day, we will be able to say that we resisted !

We were not victorious,
but we fought.
We could not get rid of the tyranny,
but stopped its course.
We did not rescue our country,
but defended it.
And if our history will be recorded one day,
we will be able to say that we resisted!

I spotted this writing back in 1996 in a small museum when my band was in Germany. It was a makeshift museum to commemorate the fall of Berlin Wall. This writing struck a chord with me, immediately I took a picture of it.

As there was no additional information about it, I had no idea who the writer was. It was after some years, with the help of a friend, that these words were identified as an expression by Lajos Kossuth.

Kossuth was a 19th century Hungarian political leader. He led the fight – though unsuccessfully – for his nation’s independence. After the defeat by Austrian and Russian army, he became an exile and finally died in Italy.

I printed out a copy of this writing, framed it and placed it on the reception desk in my working studio. To the next of this writing, there I put a small Goddess of Democracy figurine.

Over these many years, whenever there are clients or friends ask me about it, I explain the background to them. When they request : “May I copy it ?”, I just say with delight : “Certainly !”.

Leave a Reply

